Tuesday, June 21, 2011

June 2011

Here's some snapshots from our June event with feature readers John Jenkins and Ray Liversidge. Thanks to all the open readers who helped make the afternoon so successful. Lovely to have my old school friend, (old as in long ago!) Ursula, visiting all the way from Mallorca. She's pictured trying very hard to pick her own ticket number for the lucky door prize. Which she did. And you can see she didn't cheat!

AND notice Ray and I wore matching boots for the occasion!

(Sorry, Alex, no photo of you this time as you had your eyes firmly shut.)


Robyn Rowland  August 20.

Monday, June 6, 2011

John Jenkins and Ray Liversidge

Time to put Saturday June 18 in your diary for the next Stopping all Stations event. Don't forget we are starting half an hour later this time in the hope that some of the cafe's regular lunchtime clientele will have finished their noisy noshing on (thanks MM).

See you at 2.30pm for John Jenkins and Ray Liversidge.

John Jenkins lives in Kangaroo Ground, at the edge of the Yarra Valley. He has written, co-written or edited 23 books. He has won the international James Joyce Foundation Suspended Sentence Award (2004) and the National Shoalhaven/Artsrush Prize for Poetry. His verse novel, A Break in the Weather was short-listed for the FAW Christina Stead Award. His most recent book, Growing Up with Mr Menzies was named in Australian Book Review as her poetry book of the year by Morag Fraser. John has co-edited anthologies of short fiction, The Outback Reader, and Soft Lounges and published a collection of his travel stories, Travelers’ Tales of Old Cuba.

 Ray Liversidge has written two books of poetry, Obeying the Call and The Barrier Range. In 2010 his poems appeared in Triptych Poets: Issue One and his chapbook The Divorce Papers was also published. His verse novel The Barrier Range was adapted for stage and performed as Seeking Fabled Waters at the 2010 Melbourne Writers Festival. He was also a guest at the 2010 Tasmanian Poetry Festival. He is the winner of the 2010 Bruce Dawe National Poetry Prize. A new book of poems based on the lives of dead poets will be published either later this year or in early 2012. Ray has his own website at www.poetray.wordpress.com.